This AWWA award was established in 1937 in memory of George Warren Fuller. In addition to being an inventive technician who is identified with several important sanitary engineering advances during this century, Mr. Fuller devoted himself fully to the advancement of professional associations and societies in his field. During the youthful years of sanitary engineering it was through his efforts and guidance that the American Water Works Association rose from the level of a social group to its present high standing as a technical organization. From 1968 to 1975 the award was renamed “Water Utility Man of the Year” but reverted to its original title during 1975. Each year each Section may determine if any member(s) has made a significant contribution toward the advancement of water works practice within the Section which has been above and beyond that expected of officers in fulfilling their obligations or duties. It is AWWA’s highest section award.



2018 Greg Penney, CBRM, Sydney, NS

2017 Doug Brownrigg, Halifax, NS

2016 Peter Hanlon, Saint John, NB

2015 Mark Butler, Dillon Consulting, Saint John, NB

2014 Jamie Hannam, Halifax Water, Halifax, NS 

2013 Graham Gagnon, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS 

2012 Reid Campbell, Halifax Water, Halifax, NS 


2010 Carl Yates, Halifax, NS

2009 Gary Chew, Sydney River, NS

2008 *Lloyd Douglas, Truro, NS (Posthumous)

2007 Bruce Buchanan, Moncton, N.B.

2006 Robert Funke, New Glasgow, NS

2004 Blaine Rooney, Halifax, NS

2002 Gerry Isenor, Halifax, NS

2001 Ron Patterson, Amherst, NS

1999 Ken Brothers, Halifax, NS

1998 *Robert Peacock, Halifax, NS

1997 Norm MacLauchlan, Charlottetown, PEI

1993 Willard D’Eon, Halifax, NS

1991 G.A. (Sandy) Robertson, Saint John, NB

1990 Ken Dominie, St. John’s, NF

1989 Bill Butler, Saint John, NB

1988 Don Champion, Charlottetown, PEI

1986 W.H. (Bill) Gates, Halifax, NS

1985 Neil Johnson, Halifax, NS

1984 Russell Fougere, Dartmouth, NS

1983 N. Daryl McLennan, Saint John, NB

1980 Alex J. MacDonald, Sydney, NS

1977 Art J. Hiscock, Charlottetown, PEI

1976 *Frank Holden, Halifax, NS

1974 Bill Barrett, Fredericton, NB

1972 *Larry S. Heinze, Halifax, NS

1966 *Doug Kline, Halifax, NS

1951 *Ira P. MacNab, Halifax, NS