This award was established in 1957 by the forerunner of the Atlantic Canada Section of AWWA, the Maritime Branch of the Canadian Section American Water Works Association. Establishment of the award marked the tenth anniversary of the Maritime Branch. The award is in honour of the late Dr. Ira P. MacNab, P.Eng. the first president of the Maritime Branch for his untiring efforts and wise council during the formative years of the Branch and to recognize his outstanding service and interest in the water utility field in the Maritime Provinces. The award may be presented annually to a member of the Atlantic Canada Water and Wastewater Association for outstanding service to the Association.



2018 Bruce Buchanan, Moncton, NB

2017 Scott Grasman, Fredericton, NB

2016 Greg Penney, Sydney, NS

2015 Roland Richard, Moncton, NB

2014 Margaret Walsh, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS

2013 Rob Gillis, Halifax Water, Halifax, NS

2012 Craig Walker, City of Charlottetown, Charlottetown, PEI

2011 Ensor Nicholson, Moncton, NB

2010 Mark Butler, Saint John, NB

2009 Dr. Graham Gagnon, Halifax, NS

2008 Reid Campbell, Halifax, NS

2007 Murray Jamer, Fredericton, NB

2006 Bob White, Halifax, N.S.

2005 Rick Benoit, Saint John, NB

2004 Ron Patterson, Amherst, NS

2003 Gary D. Chew, Sydney River, NS

2002 Herbert Card, Grand Falls-Windsor, NL

2001 Bruce Baird, Fredericton, NB

2000 Robert Funke, New Glasgow, NS

1999 Ken Whammond, Fredericton, NB

1998 John Bliss, Fredericton, NB

1997 Andre Chenard, Fredericton, NB

1995 Gerry Isenor, Halifax, NS

1994 Joe Gallagher, Halifax, NS

1993 Laurie Corbett, Fredericton, NS

1992 Ken Brothers, Halifax, NS

1990 Willard D’Eon, Halifax, NS

1989 Ken Dominie, St. John’s, NL

1988 G.A. (Sandy) Robertson, Saint John, NB

1987 *Malcolm Mitchell, Halifax, NS

1986 *Lloyd Douglas, Truro, NS

1985 Bill Butler, Saint John, NB

1984 D. Hamilton, Moncton, NB

1983 W.H. (Bill) Gates, Halifax, NS

1982 *Robert Peacock, Halifax, NS

1980 David Stoddart, Sackville, NS

1978 N. Daryl McLennan, Saint John, NB

1977 Neil Johnson, Halifax, NS

1976 R. H. (Dick) Hollies, Fredericton, NB

1975 *O.H. (Oliver) Manuel, Charlottetown, PEI

1974 *J. L. (Jim) McAvity, Saint John, NB

1970 *A.F. Wigglesworth, Halifax, NS

1969 *E.W. (Ed) Haggerman, Fredericton, NB

1968 A. J. (Alex) MacDonald, Halifax, NS

1967 *A. E. (Albert) Hanson, Saint John, NB

1961 *J. D. (Doug) Kline, Halifax, NS