The Silent Hero Award is awarded by ACWWA and may be presented annually to recognize outstanding contributions of water and wastewater operators in each of the four Atlantic Canada provinces. The nominees must be a member of ACWWA, employed by a utility member of ACWWA, or employed by a Corporate Member of WEF.


PAST RECIPIENTS (Prince Edward Island)

2018 Fenton Bambrick, Charlottetown Water

2017 Not Awarded

2016 Greg Jay, Souris

2015 Jerry Villard, Town of Stratford

2014 Matt Duffy, Town of Cornwall

2013 Gary MacKinnon, City of Charlottetown

2012 Allan Nisbet, North Rustico

2011 Betty Pryor, Charlottetown

2010 Phil Chaisson, EISI

2009 Frank Murphy, City of Summerside

2008 Roland Ford, Charlottetown

2007 Bill Clair, Charlottetown

2006 Billy Ramsey, Stratford

2005 Sterling MacDonald, Souris

2004 Alan Greene, Montague


PAST RECIPIENTS (Newfoundland Labrador)

2018 Not Awarded

2017 Not Awarded

2016 Wayne Tait, Grand Falls

2015 Henry Jacque, Makkovik Inuit Community

2014 Gerald Noseworthy, Town of Pouch Cove

2013 Floyd Anderson, Town of Channel-Port aux Basques

2012 Harold Power, Town of Placentia

2011 Tony Skiffington, Gambo

2010 David Brewer, Old Perlican

2009 Wayne Bennett, Regional Maintenance Person, Town of St. Paul’s

2008 Not Awarded

2007 Dave Moulton, Gander

2006 Not Awarded

2005 Pat King, Springdale

2004 Not Awarded

2003 David Lewis, Exploits Regional Water Supply



2018 Kara Baisley, Halifax Water

2018 Dave Hiscock, Halifax Water

2017 Not Awarded

2016 Francis Romard, CBRM

2015 Operators of the Eastern Passage Wastewater Treatment Facility, Halifax Water

2014 Lewis Stewart, Halifax Water

2013 Susan McLeod, Truro

2012 Terry Nelson, Halifax Water

2011 Bob Cass, Port Hawkesbury

2010 Nigel Leggett, Halifax

2009 Gordon Kitson, New Glasgow

2008 Mervin Smith, New Glasgow

2007 Tim Hiltz, Bridgewater

2006 Alan Young, CBRM

2005 Pat Bellemare, HRWC

2004 Charles Muise, HRWC

2003 Peter Flynn, HRWC



2018 Christien Vienneau, City of Dieppe

2017 Bruce King, Town of Rothesay

2017 Peter Brown, Transaqua, Riverview

2016 Gabriel Belliveau, Dieppe

2015 John Lyons, Doaktown

2014 Rob Hamilton, City of Saint John

2013 Richard Larlee, City of Fredericton

2012 Mike Richard, City of Moncton

2011 Joey Frenette, Shediac


2009 Richard Bennett, Veolia Water Canada

2008 Regis Caron, Ville de St. Quentin

2007 Heather Cail, Riverside-Albert

2006 Reggie LeBlanc, Dieppe

2005 Dave MacIntosh, Fredericton Area Pollution Control

2004 Sean Sullivan, Richibucto

2003 Dan Lanteigne, Fredericton